Signs of the Azure: Kakheti in Picture and Story

A presentation I did, posted on my travel blog.

Rex and Kirsten's Adventure Blog

This informal paper was presented on May 7, 2016, at a teacher training course in Tsqaltubo, Georgia. Although the setting was not ideal and I had difficulty with the delivery, I really enjoyed writing Signs of the Azure, as the topic fascinates me, and it has been only lately that I have managed to dig into some of the ancient mythologies of eastern Georgia. As I wrote this paper for verbal presentation, I have not included footnotes, but I can provide my sources on request. All photos are mine and were taken in the Alazani Valley region during the past two years.

101 The Alazani Valley from Vejini’s Monastery of the Ascension

Today I want to explore what it means to be a human being in a geographical and historical context. Through these photos, I will raise the question of the meaning of place. My emphasis is on particularity. I will not…

View original post 2,359 more words

Leave a Reply

